Lead merging is intended to combine duplicate leads into a single entry. This action is recommended, for example, in cases where a lead has two records with different emails. By performing the merge, only one of the email addresses will be kept as the main email. The other will be included in the entry as a secondary email.
To perform the merge, follow the instructions below:
- Access Engage > Lead Base.
- Search for the lead that you want to keep as the main profile and click to access.
- Click the arrow next to the Edit button and select Merge:
- On the new screen, search for the lead that you want to merge with the main lead. Search for the lead's email or name. By merging lead data, the information of the main lead will be kept. Only new information contained in the lead that you just searched will be added to the main lead.
- After selecting the lead you want to merge, click Merge.
- Done! After the merge, the data of the secondary lead will be recorded in the main lead's profile. If the same field is filled in for both leads, the data entered for the main lead will take precedence.
The email of the secondary lead will appear in Other emails. This information is not usable and nothing can be sent to this address. This information is only a record of the secondary lead's information.
Any conversion carried out using one of the two emails, either that of the main lead or the secondary lead, will be registered and recorded under the single, merged lead.